“I think I’ve brushed my teeth for the last time.” Audrey Holland, quoting a person with ALS on her last visit with him.

Remembering him today and so reposting this entry.

Relationship and Reflection in Aphasia Therapy

Image

 

Death is not a frequent travel companion for those of us who are speech and language therapists, yet there are times when it makes its presence known. 

 

In my current practice, I see two elders with Primary Progressive Aphasia, who, though still active and thriving with the supports of their husbands, are facing relentless decline and death, most likely within a year or two.  Each in different ways, they tell me this is true, even as we work some magic to experience successes in language and social activities, or plan ways of staying involved in the lives of people they love.  It is difficult for me, this bearing witness to another’s experience.

 

Harder still is watching someone’s emotional state move him toward, and then actually into a suicide attempt.

 

Forget that we have done all the right things:  the sharing of information…

View original post 186 more words

About Shirley Morganstein

I am a life participation therapist for people with aphasia, exploring the relational and reflective process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I think I’ve brushed my teeth for the last time.” Audrey Holland, quoting a person with ALS on her last visit with him.

  1. Audrey Holland says:

    Actually,although I wrote it, I was quoting our dear friend Edye Strand, who has shared her wonderful work with ALS patients over years not only with me, but with many of us. Nonetheless, it really does put the importance of relationships on center stage….for all of us who work with terminal illness, progressive disorders, or the myriad problems of living with more predictable, but nonetheless, wrenching chronic problems.

    Like

Leave a Reply

