“The demon that you can swallow gives you its power, and the greater life’s pain, the greater life’s reply.” Nietzsche”

I have been mourning for two days the death of an old friend.  There are literally pulls to the heart and a fiery burning behind my eyes as I swallow the death demon.  I know time will give me its power.  I have the same feelings sometimes in my practice, as lately, seeing one of my elder ladies with PPA progressing further into the dementia that must claim her.  Last week, she forgot to put on her socks.  The silvery hair is no longer well-coifed, and there is a bit of Whatever Happened To Mary Jane about her eyebrows and other make-up.  Our sessions have morphed into slide shows, with comments and affirmations.  Still able to understand language, we sometimes listen together to TED talks, especially ones with humor.  This is because I like to hear her laugh.

I like to think that all of these experiences that are life’s pain are a way inside myself, finding strength there to reply.

Featured image

How do I know when I succeed?

About Shirley Morganstein

I am a life participation therapist for people with aphasia, exploring the relational and reflective process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The demon that you can swallow gives you its power, and the greater life’s pain, the greater life’s reply.” Nietzsche”

  1. Dear Shirley,

    I’ve been puzzling about how to respond to your post. You know that Jerry died in Nov of 2014. “mourning the death of an old friend” It was good to hear from you. And sad to share sad news.

    Warmest regards,

    Eileen

    Like

  2. sherrybloom says:

    Dear Shirley: I am so moved by your March 8th post, I’ve now read your entire blog. You are a wonderful writer with heartfelt intelligent insights. Thank you for blogging, each post is a gem, but 3/8 is a gift. Thank you.
    Sherry

    Like

Leave a Reply

