People take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness. Just because they’re not on your road doesn’t mean they’ve gotten lost. ~The Dalai Lama

Image  In the conversations at my therapy table, there is a good deal revealed.  Some of it is about me.

Despite years of personal work, I find my own agenda intrudes upon the goal of being fully mindful of the other in our sessions.  There are stories unfolding here:  memories of the past, considerations of present experiences, and yearning for future dreams.  I have to resist the many thoughts and wishes I have to mold the stories into a more self-pleasing trajectory.

With the idea deeply implanted that living well with aphasia means discovery of a different orientation toward life, I grow impatient with the thoughts and actions of clients who find that road slow and hard to travel.  The old definition I held onto for so many years:  healer, fixer, maker of good endings – intrudes again into the open and accepting space I thought I had built into my office.  It makes the room smaller.  It makes my listening inaccurate.  It makes me conflicted about when to remain quiet, and when to speak.

Inevitably, I find myself in an internal battle between what I think, and what I know.

To win, is to lose.

About Shirley Morganstein

I am a life participation therapist for people with aphasia, exploring the relational and reflective process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to People take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness. Just because they’re not on your road doesn’t mean they’ve gotten lost. ~The Dalai Lama

  1. Mike B says:

    Thanks for the great post. Reminds me of a line by Lao-Tzu “A good traveler has no fixed plans / and is not intent upon arriving”

    Like

  2. I came across a quote recently which I return to for reflection. “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.” Theodore Roosevelt. I particularly connect to the “where you are” part as that which keeps evolving and reminds one that nothing in life is neutral; we see and think depending upon our personal experiences and thoughts at that moment in time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

