Any fool can get up each morning full of hope, it takes a human tower of emotional strength to go to bed that way at the end of the night. Paula Poundstone

Hope2

More on hope…

The thing called hope lives in the very breath of a person with aphasia.  In the early days of my own journey as a therapist, I came to believe hope was an enemy.  It stood at the door, arms crossed, daring me to confront it with what I saw as the truth:  that aphasia was a permanent disability, and not something that would disappear.  What I failed to understand is that truth is not the enemy of hope.  It is more like a mirror through which the aspirations of the person must travel until the images are in concert.  And there is not a defined time frame for that.  Perhaps it is a lifetime.  Certainly, people with aphasia leave me often far before they can see that image clearly.  And I have so many unfinished images I hold in memory, wondering if hope and truth are reconciled. Sometimes, I am lucky enough to witness that final connection.  It is truly miraculous.  I search for it in myself as well.

Hope1

About Shirley Morganstein

I am a life participation therapist for people with aphasia, exploring the relational and reflective process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Any fool can get up each morning full of hope, it takes a human tower of emotional strength to go to bed that way at the end of the night. Paula Poundstone

  1. Shirley Morganstein says:

    Felicity: Thank you so much for your comments. I am excited to find that there is some qualitative research on the subject. I will definitely read your referenced articles. Congratulations on a marvelous professional pursuit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

