"It is harder to imagine the past that went away, than it is to imagine the future." William Gibson

Ray_bradburyWm_gibson

I’ve been a fan of science fiction and fantasy all my reading life, most recently, William Gibson, and especially the work of Ray Bradbury, who is able to bring us forward with all our humanity intact.  Yet, I’m not always intrigued by my own future, especially at times of uncertainty or difficulty.  It is this way with aphasia as well, I imagine.  Is Gibson right about the surety of the past being more difficult to imagine than the future?   Is this especially true if who you are has been altered, and the picture you had of what lay ahead is even more blurry than the past?

Future

 

I have written before about aphasia therapists being like signposts along the journey forward. I wonder if I feel that because I would so much like to have some of my own.

About Shirley Morganstein

I am a life participation therapist for people with aphasia, exploring the relational and reflective process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

