Sometimes You Can Go Home Again: For Helen

These past ten years or so have seemed very different from the ones that preceded them.  It is as though I came to that proverbial fork in the road, and without much in the way of sure footing, turned sharply to the left, away from the well-travelled path I knew.  I saw the shift as sudden, as exciting, but also a bit frightening.  When you open yourself to a different way of seeing and acting, there is an inner resistance – a voice that whispers warnings, and urges you to turn back to the comforts of the way that was before. 

People with aphasia, someone once said, cannot lie.  They bring you to the truth.  And together, you must decide what to do with that.

I find echoes of my now self in the corridors of the past. The truth is, discovering the relational elements in therapy is unavoidable.  At least, it is for me.

Here is the poem I wrote for Helen in 1971, published in the ASHA Leader the year I turned to the left. Click on the thumbnail to enlarge and read.

Asha_leader_3_16_2004

 

About Shirley Morganstein

I am a life participation therapist for people with aphasia, exploring the relational and reflective process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

