On The Road Again

Country_road

Serendipity.  Synchronicity.  Fate.  Coincidence.  All of these terms seek to describe the confluence of events and circumstances that lead one to confront self in other.  When I think of how I got here from there, it seems such a simple and direct line, yet if someone had told me about the journey early on, I would probably have thought them quite mad.  I’m re-reading the works of Carole Pound, Judith Duchan, Sally Byng, Martha Sarno, Barbara Shadden as I explore further the concepts of relational and reflective practice.  It is very challenging reading because it stirs up a lot of psychic dust.  Everything sets my thoughts going backward into past memories, or deeper into my current work, and even forward into what I see as my own evolution as a therapist.  The boundaries between self and therapist,  therapist and client used to be so clear to me, and now are often blurred, like the edges of shapes in watercolor.  A bit scary sometimes.  But then, there is a kind of gentle tugging at my core, pulling me back to center.  Maybe it is just the movements we make back and forth and between the lines that defines the journey, and not the beginning or end. 

About Shirley Morganstein

I am a life participation therapist for people with aphasia, exploring the relational and reflective process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

